To my son on his 6th birthday!

I remember the day  you came to me.  It was winter and very cold. My mind that day was more on “didi” (older sister), just a year and half herself,  and at home without me. You came .. a small parcel wrapped up in cloth.. I was expecting a shrieking, crying child , demanding to be fed/ burped/ changed and looked after. I had already steeled myself, resolving to not let your babyish ways monopolize all my time. Determined to also be fair to “didi”, an infant herself. Instead you were completely  undemanding, quiet! as if saying “mom, don’t worry about me .. I can wait , check on her first”.  And contradictorily, that won me over! the generosity, the patience , the “politeness”, that you showed as an infant. Even as  a toddler, it was amusing to watch,  the way you hero worshipped her, a putty in her hands. even when she was unfair, you let it pass.  Your eyes saying you were not  fooled by her tricks but choosing to be  generous because, after all she was your “didi”. and worth being treated like a little goddess.

As you both grew and your personalities started to firm.. I saw traits I know I will be proud of – sensitivity, sincerity, generosity, willingness to share, desire to be fair,  friendliness, chirpiness, quick wit and an awesome sense of humour. Also became evident your talents.. An ear for music, a memory for dance steps, knack for languages and maths, and a sharp intellect. And some that I know we will need to work on.. a weakness for food, tendency to laziness, fondness for TV… As a mother I worry about these.. but these are not insurmountable . what I really worry about are actually your qualities! Your sensitivity that lets you empathize with that child on the street but also makes you vulnerable to hurts and slights of your friends. Your sincerity, that lets you be your teachers pet, but also makes you an easy target for bullies! Your generosity that allows you to share your pencils with a classmate but also allows those less scrupulous than you to take advantage of you!

But your strengths far outnumber your frailties and looking at the child you are today.. I can imagine the man you will be one day.. a man of his words. A  talented, intelligent , confident guy who will steal hearts with his words and win admiration with his intellect. And one who would never ever hurt his “didi” or any other girl cause they are “princesses” meant to be treasured! And that day  I would consider my job as a mom, well done!

9 thoughts on “To my son on his 6th birthday!

  1. What a remarkable young man you have, a credit not only to himself but also to you! My Ryan, now 23, was the same way…patient, low-key, helpful. He is living in London now but continues to make us proud every day.

Leave a Reply

