Finding the time to live?

As time flies by

Its not the sagging skin that scares me

Nor the deepening wrinkles

Nor the graying hair or the little sunspots on my face
 

What really worries me

Is my list of undone things

Books unread, thoughts un-penned

Dances not danced, pictures not sketched

Plays un- seen, documentaries un- made

There is  so much crammed in my head – unexpressed
&nbsp:

Still, remains so much to learn

To change tyres, repair the light

How to stick to a healthy diet

To sew, knit and  cook like a pro

Make three somersaults in a row

Run a marathon, cycle, swim

Discipline kids without raising a brow
 

Oh!  will I ever find the time

To write wacky FB statuses that friends can ‘like’

To climb the mountains I was  to scale,

To take those long winding forest trails

Cruise a river, sail through a lake

Reply to the increasing stack of “important” mails

Help the people I had decided to help,

Make the difference I was supposed to make.
 

And have I really?

Found all the friends that I was to  find,

Met all the people I was  to meet

Taught the children everything I could teach

Fulfilled promises I’d made and decided to keep

 

Shouldn’t I have by now?

Written the letters I had meant to write

Attempted that free fall from a  two seater flight

Master the games I had wanted to learn

The accolades are still left to be earned

 
I was to change this world, in my humble way

Enough  leisurely evenings I haven’t still spent

Still not sat beside the sea at length

Nor waded through enough rivers

or planted trees or plucked wildflowers

I have not yet grown veggies in my ‘organic’ farm

Had a million pets and my own “abandoned animals” barn

Listened to music at my pace

Spent enough time  away from the rat race

Fooled around with kids to my hearts content

Nor visited all my long separated friends

Gazed at the moon , studied the stars

Lived the life of a vagabond
 

There were so many dreams I had dreamt when young

So many hopes, so much in the “bucket list” to be done,

yet time goes on …
 

It slips like sand through my fingers, it doesn’t understand

I try to make every moment count, do my best to jam in all I can

No matter how much time god gives.. will it ever be enough to really live?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Yatin says:

    You are not wealthy until you have something that money can’t buy. I want to live to make someone “wealthy”. May be a smile on a sad face!!

    1. thats a nice thought yatin! hold on to it and you will be very “wealthy” some day..good luck!

  2. ZinalBhadra says:

    Hi Sapna,

    I think this post is awesome.. felt like you were echoing my thoughts..
    Can i take the liberty of sharing this post?

    1. go ahead zinal! It would make me happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

