The Sea Bandit

Verse one

all my love

entrapped in glass

the blue sea bandits

stole it

the sea bandit

stole my heart

sealed in a bottle

I watch it part

Verse two

Verse three

Oh! sea bandit

I give you my heart

bear it gently

to my lover

shores apart

when you see him

tenderly implore

tell him

I can bear

the distance,  no more

Aubrie Cox is one of the bloggers, whose writing I admire greatly. She is hosting a sea and/ or thieves theme at yay words. Even though, I am not adept at any form of poetry, I couldn’t pass this one up after seeing the beautiful doodle she drew for it. Aubrie, here are my submissions, inspired by your doodle and theme. I am sorry, I can’t seem to stick to any fixed format while writing my verse. But what I lack in discipline, I try to make up in enthusiasm. 🙂

14 Comments Add yours

  1. redplace says:

    This took my break away the moment I started reading. Beautiful writing!

    1. That’s a very generous compliment! thank you!!! you’ve made my day🙂

  2. Shivya says:

    Loved it, Sapna🙂 i think the best poetry is written free flow, and you just proved that!

    1. Thanks Shivya! Each time I read a post/ comment from you, I think about the ‘yet to be written’ ladakh trip! have I mentioned, I hate doing stuff that has to be done! will wait till no one expects it anymore🙂

  3. Lovely poem, my friend. I think you are a more adept writer than you realize. Your work is beautiful!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. Thank you kathy! You know how much your words mean to me. you just made my week🙂

  4. Very beautiful poem…Straight from heart!

    1. isn’t poetry always??? prose can be tailored and written from one’s mind but poetry just comes from the heart! Don’t you agree? Thanks for visiting🙂

  5. U keep doing better with each one🙂

    1. thank you Somesh! I hope that continues, cause there’s much scope for improvement.🙂

  6. Yousei Hime says:

    So happy you’re participating. I haven’t had time or energy to jump into this one. I look forward to seeing the finished collection. 🙂

    1. I just scribbled what came to my mind on seeing that doodle. Don’t know if that can qualify as ‘participating’. Haven’t managed to look at the others! I too look forward to seeing the final collection. The theme is beautiful and the entries are bound to be evocative🙂

  7. Aubrie Cox says:

    Sapna,

    Finally, I’m starting to get to comment submissions and whatnot… And here you are. I love verse 3 and would love to include it in the final collection! Thanks for these wonderful poems…🙂

    Aubrie

    1. I am glad you like it! Wanted to return back and do some more but just didn’t find the time🙂 You don’t need to thank me, the pleasure is all mine🙂

Leave a Reply

