Note to a ‘Sixteen year old’ me – Missing Dreams

Don’t be in a rush

to bequeath your heart

when it threatens to slip away,

Beware!

question the urge to let it rule you

think hard

before abandoning dearly held plans

cause hearts are fickle

people grow

choices  mature

wants change

infatuations don’t remain forever

on coming awake

as you search in the

shambles of your life

for the unheeded young dreams

that  flew the nest

when you slept cocooned in desires bed

you miss them!

Dear Me

Missing Dreams – is written as a response to the prompt at we write poems  this week . It said:

If you could go back in time and impart a bit of wisdom to your sixteen year old self, what would you say? As a quick example, one of Langston Hughes’ most famous poems might be the very piece of wisdom he would tell his sixteen year old self. Hold fast to dreams, For if dreams die Life is a broken winged bird, That cannot fly!

The prompt was  very interesting!Don’t you think? Full of creative possibilities.

If you could time travel and leave advice for ‘the sixteen year old’ You. What would it be?

18 Comments Add yours

  1. pratikmohapatra says:

    pretty interesting conception and put forward in a simplistic most suitable way..

    1. thanks Pratik! 🙂 note to a sixteen year old better be simple ! Right?

  2. Arindam says:

    Beautifully written!
    “people grow,
    choices mature,
    wants change,
    infatuations don’t remain forever” -I loved this part of the poem. 🙂

    1. me too 🙂 glad you liked it 🙂

  3. gunjanbit says:

    interesting and wisely written.\
    worth reading it

    1. thanks Gunjan 🙂 Though i am sure, the 16 year old me would have trashed it completely 🙂 🙂

  4. Sabio Lantz says:

    “infatuations don’t remain forever”

    ahhhh! Nicely said. And I agree, “the 16 year old [you] would have trashed it completely.” At 16yo I remember telling my father about a new love — he said to me the same as your poem, but he put it more bluntly – “Ah, that is just puppy love — it will pass.”
    I never spoke to him again about anything I felt deeply, even though he was right, of course.

    We have to watch and be sure our ‘wisdom’ is appropriate for who they are.
    Good writing, thanks.

    1. so true! wisdom has to be acquired with one’s own experience and age. Ready made wisdom doesn’t work as well 🙂

  5. 1sojournal says:

    This is a wonderful prompt. Each of us has a sixteen year old still living within us. We might not have listened way back then, but we are certainly hearing it today with these poems. That is healing as well as loving,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    1. that’s a lovely way to put it. And I agree! Even knowing and understanding the mistakes you made is healing in its own way . Thanks for the visit and encouragement Elizabeth

  6. JulesPaige says:

    You have spoken to the wall-flower in me. The one left for naught…and yet with patience and perseverance I found my true love…this month we’ll be wed over 30 years!

    I’m here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/09/wwp-122-dear-prudence.html

    1. Thirty years! Isn’t that something? Our marriage is 14 years old and I thought we were vintage (lol) . have a great anniversary ! God bless you and ‘true love’ 🙂

  7. ZinalBhadra says:

    Beautiful poem Sapna..
    People grow and wants mature and sometimes when i look back at my older self i feel like pursing my lips and saying, “what was i thinking?”

    1. LOL! Zinal, I hope you mean younger self!!!! Though I am sure that our younger selves would also purse their lips at our choices and wants now 😉 thanks for the generous appreciation as always

      1. ZinalBhadra says:

        Oops.. my bad
        Of course i mean my younger self 😉

Leave a Reply

