Taking off – The Jaipur Literature Festival

I am a festival person! I am not particularly religious ! And still or maybe that’s why I like to celebrate all festivals. Even the lesser known ones like sakrant, gangaur, lohri, etc. etc. But there is one festival that tops my list – The Jaipur Literature festival. I’ve been going there since the last four years. Its grown from a cosy, unpretentious affair to a large prestigious event and still the spirit remains the same. It’s still at core a book lover’s paradise.

Book stalls to browse in, famous authors to listen to, undiscovered writers to meet with, endless cups of coffee over never-ending discussions, soaking in the sun while listening to Kabir’s dohas or Gulzar ji’s poems, and tons of good literary vibes!

This week I am taking off from the blog to attend the festival. Along with the Dalai lama This is the list of speakers expected at the festival this year. Here is the five-day program in detail.

The Greatest Literary Show on Earth!” -Tina Brown

So now that I’ve given you a sneak peek into the treat I am heading for…. Ta da! will be back with some new ideas and  lots of inspiration 🙂

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I have never heard of the festival before! Could you send pictures!

    1. Jasmine! I am not a picture person but I will try to click some:)

      1. Oh how great! What ever you are comfortable with!

    2. Deepak Yadav says:

      This is one of the biggest literature festivals of our country, I don’t know how come you don’t know that.

      1. Deepak, many people are not aware of the festival! jasmine, I didn’t get many pictures but if you are on twitter. I did send out very regular tweets that kind of captured my experience of the festival quite well

  2. Madhu says:

    Ah lucky you! Look forward to reading all about it

    1. it was a great experience Madhu. I keep thinking I should write about it, but the five days were so packed, I really don’t know where to begin from 🙂 I will try to put in a small not atleast

Leave a Reply

