Why I Write

Why I write I hear you ask

You may as well ask the flower

Why in the sunlight it basks?

You may wish to know from a bee

Why she flits from tree to tree?

Why must the cuckoo sing

Happy songs every spring?

Why tell me, must every night

The moon spend with moonlight

Can it for one day not part?

From her, just for a laugh

Why should the peacock care for rain?

Why the moth burns itself in flames?

Why does the river seek the sea?

The leaf  elopes with the autumn breeze?

These mysteries  many great minds seek

The answers

I don’t know now and  never will

There is no cure for passion

No pill for lust

I write

Because I simply ‘must’

Wrote this just as the Sunday midnight deadline comes calling, from the back seat of our car, on our way back home after a weekend family trip. With tips from the kids (thus the rhyming) . We had fun doing it, hope you enjoy it too  🙂

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Anchal says:

    Loved reading it!! I often ask myself these questions.

  2. farzana & aliasgarmukhtiar says:

    lovely

  3. well conveyed..!!
    thumbs up (Y)

  4. I like your children helped you, loved reading it. We all ask these questions and perhaps draw the same conclusions.

  5. Wow! So, this poem was co authored ur kids! 😀 lovely!

    1. ya it was somesh. glad you liked it 🙂

      1. but I gotta say, I haven’t read another post in which “why I write” or “why I blog” has been answered with a poem. JAWC an co. is one talented lot for sure 🙂

      2. I like JAWC and co. think I should trademark that 😉

Leave a Reply

