Just A Rhyme

When I was a little child

barely five

I got a slap

the first one of my life

my mom was raving mad at me

servants are like our family

you never speak with them badly

he is more than your dad’s age

apologize immediately and don’t ever disrespect

so what if he works for you

ordering him around, will never do

after she had properly admonished me

she bent down to touch Mohan ‘kaka’s’  feet

I lost my mum soon after that

but I never forgot that slap

and the lesson that went with it

I pass it on to my kids

as their late ‘ nani’s‘  precious gift

As I grew up and saw the world

the more I watched the more I learned

there’s a special lesson that comes to my mind

the one I learned at a traffic light

of begging rackets I had heard many  tales

to give or not, doubts  always assailed

one day, a car just ahead of me

rolled down  its window in the  afternoon  heat

I watched as all the beggars ran

to get their packs of ‘Parle G’

the packets were opened with such glee

even before the light turned green

since then  ‘gur’ ,  biscuits or small bottles of milk

by my side  you will always find

From elders we learn all the time

but there’s a special lesson of life

that I have learned from my child

once as I picked veggies with ‘K’ by my side

he tugged at me with all his might

mom, can I too have some greens

of course I said extremely pleased

you can take what you need

promptly he picked a bunch of  spinach  leaves

and proceeded to the other side of the street

there sat an aging cow

‘K’ kept his bundle at her side

I could only smile with pride

stray animals now I make sure to feed

whether ‘K’ is or not with me

These are some lessons that I have learned

by watching others who are sensitive and  concerned

they have helped me be a better human being

I hope this silly  rhyme

will help them reach many more like me.

Kaka:A respectful term for older men

nani: Maternal grandmother

Gur: An unrefined healthier form of sugar. Rich in Iron, often used as a sweet treat for children.

I am sharing what ‘I Saw and I Learnt‘ at BlogAdda.com in association with DoRight.in.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. All 3 lovely lessons!
    Your mother must have been a really special person! While it’s sad that you lost her early, you’re really lucky to have been born as her daughter!!

    1. my feelings exactly! so nice that you understand. thanks for stopping by

  2. Aditi says:

    Love the rhyme n the beautiful message that u hv conveyed. All d best! 🙂

    http://www.makeitbeayoutiful.blogspot.in/2013/07/when-children-turn-masters.html

    1. thank you aditi….Read your post, it’s lovely 🙂

  3. I thank you for this. Truly.

  4. Arindam says:

    Like the message a lot. Beautifully written!!

    1. thanks arindam! nice to see you after long tim 🙂

  5. Lovely lines 🙂 Loved it

Leave a Reply

