Perhaps

You hurt me.

Perhaps you didn’t mean to 

But you did.

It’s not your fault

That I hurt so easy.

Or maybe it is…

I had a hide.

The hide I use for strangers.

Strangers? 

Because they hurt.

Over the years

I have learned to wear one.

But you peeled it off.

Tricked me into peeling it off.

Exposing me to you.

With your promises of eternity.

And when I did…

You hit me.

Hard!

Your words or the lack of them 

Like a belt 

On my exposed flesh.

It hurt

It hurts…

I think 

Perhaps you didn’t mean to 

Perhaps You didn’t know

But 

Sometimes just sometimes

I wonder if

Perhaps you meant to 

If

Perhaps you knew

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Annie says:

    I can so feel the pain here… Like the wound is still fresh. Beautiful words. Hope you’re okay.

    1. Am perfectly OK Annie 😊 it’s the bane of being a poet . Feel pain more intensely – others and ones own !

      1. Annie says:

        Ah, great to hear 🙂 Indeed. Not that I know it.. I’ve seen poets do it 😉

  2. I felt that into my soul.

    1. You have a very sensitive , beautiful soul Valentine 🙂 thank you Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

