An Ode to the Old Year

Midway into December, I get a call from an unknown no. that flashes Scotland. Who do I know in  ‘Half the world away and at least twenty degrees colder Scotland?’ The only person that comes to my mind is Mukesh. I have never met Mukesh. Atleast not the way ‘met’ is understood traditionally.  I met Mukesh through my blog. These were the beginning days of the blog. He would always drop an encouraging comment or two. And soon he became a regular 🙂 I discovered that he and his wife Suparna were serial entrepreneurs. Not only were they always bubbling with new ideas they also walked the extra mile and put them into action.

On the other hand, I am at my moodiest in my writing. I never respond well to topics and themes and deadlines. I can not be summoned to write. My words creep upon me when they feel like. And yet Mukesh has managed to always cajole something or the other out of me. ‘Storizen’,’Poetryzen’ and now for ‘Festive Riot’. This one is special because this time I had gone away for almost a year. I was so deep into my self imposed writing slumber that everyone had forgotten JAWC. Hell! I had forgotten JAWC! But he remembered. And over two phone-calls and few mails he tricked me into believing that Suparna and he hadn’t summoned this at all. Thank you! Mukesh and Suparna, I enjoyed writing this.  As in the case of all my writing, this one too comes from my life.

Its called ‘Ode to the Old Year’ and its on page 22 of the Festive Riot. The link is given below. As always, I look forward to your comments 🙂

Though this post was written independently. It was so eerily apt for the WOW prompt this week that I just had to include it. So ‘This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.’ I love ‘WOW’ prompts and I hope you enjoy it!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Amira says:

    Beautifully told Sapna. I felt for that boy and his laugh. I felt for a caring woman who sails with her dreams. It’s never late to do what we love to do. It’s never late to start from 0. May we have more Sapnas in this world. More dreams 🙂

    1. And many more sensitive and kind Amiras too 🙂 thank you !

  2. Thank you dear friend. The magnificent pieces, like yours, are few and rare. But they do come along and that’s the reward to keep chugging along.
    Keep writing.

    1. There you go again! Trademark your flattery 🙂 whenever someone suffers from self doubt they must come to you 😊

  3. Thank you so much for your kind words. Do keep writing and sharing such wonderful stories with all of us. Happy New Year!

    1. Happy new year to you too 😊 hope to be here more this year

Leave a Reply

