“Friendship” – When I was gifted a star

There was a point in time, when I believed I was jinxed. My grand-dad died 13 days before I was born, my mom when I was hardly 6, my dad had to leave and settle abroad when I was 8. I thought why do I always lose the people I love?

By the time  I turned nine, I found myself in a girls hostel. Because I had joined mid-term and there was no space in the hostel meant for girls from my class I was put in with older girls.The girls were nice, sympathetic perhaps, but they were young and I was younger and there was no meeting ground. I was a lonely child, so sad inside that my eyes brimmed up if I ever heard a kind word from anyone.

And that is what happened when she first spoke to me. “She ” was a fifth grader (An year older than me), her name was Sminu Jindal, and she was beautiful!  I was walking back alone from the dining hall at night. She called out to me and asked if I was alright? She spoke to me in the gentlest voice.That’s all it took.. Three little words to bring tears to my eyes. I was embarrassed by them. But it seems she understood and walked by my side.

That night she told me something I will never forget. She said people who leave don’t go forever. They become stars and watch over you. And then she pointed to the part of the sky with three stars in a row and said “See, the middle one there.. That’s your mom”. I looked at her, as if she was handing me a magic wand.. and she said “ya, it is ” “Go ahead, call out to her… if she is listening, the star will blink”. With wonder and amazement in  my nine-year old eyes,I did as she asked, tentatively calling out to my long  lost mom in my mind. Guess what? The star blinked. From then on, whenever I was low or sad or lonely or even happy. I called out to my “mommy star” and it blinked a blink specially for me.

As it did the day I got the sad news. Sminu,  had met with an accident and could walk no more. She never came back to school, and I never got a chance to tell her, how thankful I was  for her gift. She had gifted me faith and belief in the shape of a special star.

image courtesy ironmouse86.deviantart.com

I still regret, not being able to thank Sminu for her special gift. Life had handed her a tragedy and she didn’t deserve it. But knowing the person she was, even as a child, I am sure wherever she is , she is “blessed” !

Do you have any friends who gave you something memorable. Not stuff, maybe but faith or hope or love and care when you needed it the most. Do you have any friends  you would like to thank but haven’t?

Do you have a special star?

44 Comments Add yours

  1. Madhu says:

    What a wonderful gift from someone so young! Thank you for sharing such a beautiful and moving story. I have no doubt your mom is watching over you every moment.

  2. Such a wonderful memory – thank you for sharig it!

  3. fgassette says:

    I also enjoyed your first introduction to friendship. True friendships are never lost because you hold them in your heart. Thanks for sharing and thank you for listing my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. adinparadise says:

    Lovely post, and I’m so glad that you had that special time with your friend Sminu. What a lovely gift she gave to you in the short time that you and she were together. 😉

    1. ya, it was a very short time and the gift she gave me, eternal!! am so glad you liked the post 🙂

  5. izzawa says:

    a very beautiful story .. Reminds me of my
    mother who had died a year ago .. Yes she
    will be a shining star in the sky, will always
    be there looking at me … I miss you mom
    Thanks for sharing… 🙂

    1. no doubt about it! she is definitely there in the sky looking at you and beaming with pride 🙂 glad you liked the post

  6. Pingback: craftcrazygran
    1. Thank you for the ping back

    2. thanks! for the mention 🙂

    1. Thanks for the share!!! 🙂

  7. aame says:

    Thanks for sharing this !!! Beautiful and touching !

    1. Thanks for stopping and reading!!! 🙂

  8. Not just moved, am displaced.

    You have a real gift – To effortlessly express the most sacred emotions in words.

    If you continue writing like this, in few months you will have million homes (in the hearts of your readers).

    1. Which implies a million readers !!! Mukesh, aapke muh me ghee, shakkar (desi style!!) Honestly, the writing is so so… Maybe you r someone who gets moved easily! Anyway!! Thank you!

  9. Beautiful, heart warming with so much inspiration to give. My best friends are my wife and son. They gave me wings when I fell so many times. They made me smile when heart broken, they made me appreciate life even if storms came my way.

    1. My husband’s been my greatest friend too…

  10. eof737 says:

    Beautiful share… 🙂

    1. Thanks for the pingback 🙂

    1. Thank you for sharing this 🙂

  11. Shilpa says:

    Came across this poem by Louis Untermeyer.. And it reminded me of this post you’d written..

    TIME, you old gypsy man,
    Will you not stay,
    Put up your caravan
    Just for one day?

    All things I’ll give you
    Will you be my guest,
    Bells for your jennet
    Of silver the best,
    Goldsmiths shall beat you
    A great golden ring,
    Peacocks shall bow to you,
    Little boys sing,
    Oh, and sweet girls will
    Festoon you with may.
    Time, you old gypsy,
    Why hasten away?

    Last week in Babylon,
    Last night in Rome,
    Morning, and in the crush
    Under Paul’s dome;
    Under Paul’s dial
    You tighten your rein—
    Only a moment,
    And off once again;
    Off to some city
    Now blind in the womb,
    Off to another
    Ere that’s in the tomb.

    Time, you old gypsy man,
    Will you not stay,
    Put up your caravan
    Just for one day?

    1. beautiful poem! had never read it before 🙂 can’t imagine how it made you think of the crap I write but I am not complaining 🙂

      1. Shilpa says:

        The poem speaks of loss.. Begging for moments.. It was shared by one of my teachers who just lost somebody close.. Your post had undercurrents of loss as well..

  12. Tapish Gupta says:

    What a post! loved it..
    touched and moved my soul.. 🙂

    1. 🙂
      can’t think of anything appropriate to say to that! glad you like it!

      1. Tapish Gupta says:

        The concept is not rare for me, but the way you have written or say, I don’t know the reason, but I felt deeply connected. Thanks for this post 🙂

Leave a comment